Merging Contacts

Merge Contacts

The same visitor can reach your customer support and create enquiries from different channels and serve them by the other staff agents assigned to channels, resulting in duplicate contacts.

CINNOX offers you the Merge Contacts tool to help you identify identical profiles with verified phone number among your External Contact List. You can manually find contact to merge with the visitor profile if you find them as one profile.

You can also select an individual field to keep from each record just if one has information another does not. Using the Merge Contact tool allows you to resolve duplicate contacts and have up-to-date information in your Contact list.

 

Below are some scenarios we can take a look at for the Merge Contacts.

Scenario 1: Identical Verified Phone Number

When the pre-chat form is enabled with phone number verification, and contact auto-save enabled, or the visitor call via Virtual Number.

A visitor with a verified phone number and the phone number owned already by a contact, merging the visitor information with contact, will appear in the enquiry chat room's room panel as a suggestion.

We identified contact with the same verified phone number to this visitor. Do you want to merge them? displays together with the Merge button.

To proceed with the merging:

  • Click the Merge button, and their profile information will display.
  • Select the fields you want to keep from each contact just if one has information that the other does not.
  • Click the Merge button again to confirm the merging. A toast message "Contact merged" will appear once successfully merge the two contacts, and can view all activities, including closed and ongoing enquiries, in just one room.
Visitor w/ identical verified phone number merge with another contactVisitor w/ identical verified phone number merge with another contact

Visitor w/ identical verified phone number merge with another contact

 

Scenario 2: Non-Identical Verified Phone Number

When the pre-chat form is enabled with phone number verification, and contact auto-save enabled, or the visitor call via Virtual Number.

A visitor with a verified phone number in which no contact does not own the phone number:
You can still merge the visitor information to an existing contact provided that you know that they are just one contact otherwise keep the new contact as it is.

To proceed with the merging:

  • Click the Merge to Contact button, and search for the contact you want to merge.
  • Click the Next button, and their profile information will display
  • Select the fields you want to keep from each contact just if one has information that the other does not.
  • Click the Merge button again to confirm the merging. A toast message "Contact merged" will appear once successfully merge the two contacts and all activities including closed and ongoing enquiries can be viewed in just one room.
Visitor w/ non-identical verified phone number merge with another contactVisitor w/ non-identical verified phone number merge with another contact

Visitor w/ non-identical verified phone number merge with another contact

 

Scenario 3: Non-Verified Phone Number

When the pre-chat form is enabled without phone number verification, and contact auto-save enabled/disabled.

A visitor with unverified can still merge the visitor profile to an existing contact but ensure you know that they are just one contact profile; otherwise, save the visitor profile as a new contact.

To proceed with the merging:

  • Click the Merge to Contact button, and search for the contact you want to merge.
  • Click the Next button, and their profile information will display
  • Select the fields you want to keep from each contact just if one has information that the other does not.
  • Click the Merge button again to confirm the merging. A toast message "Contact merged" will appear once successfully merge the two contacts, and can view all activities, including closed and ongoing enquiries, in just one room.
Visitor w/ unverified phone number merge with another contactVisitor w/ unverified phone number merge with another contact

Visitor w/ unverified phone number merge with another contact

 

Scenario 4: No Visitor Personal Information

When the pre-chat form is disabled.

A visitor without any personal information can still merge the visitor information to an existing contact but ensure you know that they are just one contact profile; otherwise, save the visitor information as a new contact.

To proceed with the merging:

  • Fill in the visitor information gathered during the enquiry handling.
  • Click the Merge to Contact button, and search for the contact you want to merge.
  • Click the Next button, and their profile information will display
  • Select the fields you want to keep from each contact just if one has information that the other does not.
  • Click the Merge button again to confirm the merging. A toast message "Contact merged" will appear once successfully merge the two contacts, and can view all activities, including closed and ongoing enquiries, in just one room.
Entered visitor information merge with another contactEntered visitor information merge with another contact

Entered visitor information merge with another contact

 

All activities and enquiry rooms will be merged and viewed in just one for merge contacts.

Merged Rooms View for Merged Contacts

For contacts with multiple (closed and ongoing) enquiries when merged to another contact, their enquiries combined and viewed in one chat room.

In which you can:

  • View all previous enquiries, chat history and ongoing enquiries of the same contact inside the chat room when handling an enquiry.
  • Filter the chat room containing multiple enquiries of the same contact so that each full enquiry conversation viewed separately.
  • View all shared media sent by the same contact in previous separate enquiries in the chat room in one location.
Merged Rooms  View for Merged ContactsMerged Rooms  View for Merged Contacts

Merged Rooms View for Merged Contacts

📘

You can only reply to the enquiry handled by you with a status Current, which means it is the room's active enquiry. Others (ongoing, followed-up and closed) are just for reference and are still available in the Recent list.

 

Save as Contact

For a new visitor with or without personal information, you can fill in additional information gathered during the enquiry handle and save them as new Contact.

  • Fill in the visitor information gathered during the enquiry handling.
  • Click the Save button, a toast message will appear that the contact is updated.
Save Visitor Information as New ContactSave Visitor Information as New Contact

Save Visitor Information as New Contact


Did this page help you?